My Stance on People and Politics

So I have decided to take Go For Jo in a new direction, instead of the direction that I was originally going with, which was just talking about any type of news. At the same time, I do not want to lose what I enjoy talking about and what I hope you enjoy reading about. But in the midst of this transition I still want to be able to deliver content so that people don’t completely forget about me.  This piece that I’m writing is a personal column slash motivational speaking or advise type of thing, and it can be taken in any context that you might see fit. But do understand that it is a personal opinion and it is not an attack on anyone as an individual.

One thing I’ve learned this year is that you can convince anyone to believe that one thing can be an issue while another thing can be completely ignored. It is easy to see how people have actually been able to grasp this whole presidential debate. And I haven’t actually been able to understand what it is about this election that is causing so many people to become involved as opposed to previous elections, and why everyone is now wanting to be heard as opposed to previously not caring about who the president was because “they’re vote didn’t count anyway.”

While I am NOT going to reveal who I am voting for, I will publicly say that I am a proud supporter of the Republican Party. It hasn’t been easy, especially with people that have opinions on everything. There could be one group that says we accept everyone no matter what, but that same group will be against the group is that is accepting their traditional values. Just because you accept traditional values doesn’t mean that you want to impede on everyone else’s lives. Anyone can have a personal opinion about anything you want to have an opinion about and still be able to say that I don’t agree with it. For instance, just because I don’t necessarily care for guns doesn’t mean I’m going to say that people shouldn’t have guns because I see that guns can benefit, if that makes any sense. On top of that, if you’re going to have a personal opinion about something you have to actually take into consideration how many people are listening to you and figure out a way to express what you’re trying to say better than just saying I’m not going to agree with this and/or I’m going to do away with this, because you’re going to end up missing out on being accepted by a lot of good people. Both parties in government have that issue, just like we as citizens have that same issue where if we don’t agree with someone we have to verbally express that. But we shouldn’t have to express that. If you have a personal opinion then that is your personal opinion. You should not take your personal opinion and force it on someone else because you don’t believe their opinion is right, because that is the absolute of an opinion. I can think something works one way for someone else, and I can think something works another way for me. That is completely fine. I do not make it my life’s mission to make sure everyone knows that my opinions are right and their opinion is wrong.

Last but not least, I just want to say that opinions are based off of perspective, and everyone has a different perspective when it comes to how we see everything in life. We all have to be able to understand that everyone is at a different place in their lives, and everyone has seen different things in their lives. For me growing up in a household where my stepfather wasn’t exactly the kindest man on earth, I look at every day as being a gift, and happy to be alive. I try to find the good in everyone and everything as much as possible. But then there may be someone else that may have not had to be tested in life the same way I had to be tested, or maybe has experienced more trauma than I have, and so what they see is maybe all bad or a mixture of good and bad. But that’s not for me to pass judgement or put an opinion on, because that is the way things appear to them.

Leave a Reply

