From a Fellow author. His message to his daughter, and why he chooses to not fight.

I read a piece by a recent follower that was really something special. It is a piece about his daughter, Ever, and the relationship between them, and how it affects the entire family. Take a look.

If By Chance You Ever Wonder If I Think About You.

“My Dearest Daughter,

I haven’t seen you since August of last year, and there’s not a day that goes by that I don’t think about you. I talk about you constantly, to everyone.

It’s kind crazy.

You know, when I first met your mommy she had adoption books on the shelf in her room. She didn’t think she could have a child. And she left the man before me because he wouldn’t adopt with her. Because he didn’t want children. At least that’s as much information as she ever told me.

So I understand why she keeps you from me. You are everything she has ever coveted. You are Ever.

She wanted you more than anything she has ever wanted in the world. That’s why we named you Ever. Because you were her dream come true.

So I understand possibly why she keeps you from me, and why she says and does the things she does. Your Mommy doesn’t like to share what is most valuable to her.

I can understand that. And I can forgive her for it because I know what you mean to me, and if you mean as much to her, as you do to me, and I was a different person, who didn’t know this pain, the pain of losing a child, I wouldn’t share you either.

I would also like to point out,

You were mine too, and so, when I knew how much your mommy loved babies, I gave her one. For I wanted a family more than anything. I never really had a family, and thus my dream was to wake up next to my soulmate, and my baby everyday, and have that sense of beauty in my life.

So you are also everything to me.

So here’s why I didn’t fight harder earlier.

I don’t believe children are property to fight over.

My father committed suicide over the loss of his soulmate and children. My mother was taking him to court. And when he died I saw how it affected my brother, my mother, and I. I saw what hate and spite can do to a family.

And I swore I would never do that. I still don’t want to. I dont believe that you are property. I believe that you are a person. A little sweet angel in my life.

You have missed out on many many things as have I because of spite.

Your Uncle ask about you alot. My brother, his name is John. He calls you the chosen one.

Your grandma, my mom, well…she hurts so bad from losing you, I guess she doesn’t really talk.

And your great grandma, who you will probably never meet because of your mother’s hate, ask about you daily. She is getting older now. It was just her birthday. You would have loved her so.

And for all of these things, I forgive your mother. I’m sorry that they even have to be said. If I didn’t though, you would never know how much we loved.

So when you read all of these letters one day.

Know that I loved both of you. That I thought about you everyday, and that I would be there if I could.

And that many, many, many more people can’t wait to see you as well.

It’s very late my beautiful child. I hope you are sleeping with the angels, and had a good day today, and we’re good to your Mommy and didn’t drive her to crazy.

I love you forever,

Always, Daddy.

Aldous Thoreau.”

If you enjoyed this piece, you can find more of his work on his Facebook page www.facebook.com/aldousthoreau

One thought on “From a Fellow author. His message to his daughter, and why he chooses to not fight.

  1. It depends on what type of approach you are willing to take. I started with a free website from WordPress to see if I really wanted to invest in my reporting passion. After a few articles, I was positive I wanted to do it! Now I have a paid one. The number one thing is to determine what exactly you want to write about. Will it be personal? Or will it be opinionated? What about political? The options are endless! Feel free to contact me. I’ll be happy to give any advice I have!

    Like

Leave a Reply

