A roundabout way of saying thank you

Take some time to read this. It’s definitely worth it.

Snoozing on the Sofa

Laying a wreath at the Tomb of the Unknowns on Armistice Day, 1923. November 11 was renamed Veterans Day in 1954.Laying a wreath at Arlington National Cemetery on Armistice Day, 1923. November 11 was renamed Veterans Day in 1954.

In the USA, Veterans Day is a chance to thank past and present members of the armed forces for their service to their country. It’s also an opportunity to recognize the veterans in one’s own family.

I have uncles who served in the military, but I don’t know much about when or where. I’m pretty sure my mother’s father was in the army, but I know nothing about his time there, and I can’t even really prove it.

The relative about whose army service I have the most knowledge is my father’s father. Yet, it would be somewhat awkward to thank him for fighting for American rights and freedoms; he was in the German Army.

My eldest son is fascinated by the fact that his great-grandfather was in the German Army…

View original post 363 more words

Leave a Reply

